If you need to adjust a transaction, the easiest way is to right-click on the transaction reference number, select Edit transaction and adjust the entries as required (Method 1). Alternatively, if you require an audit trail of the adjustment, you can reverse the original transaction and re-enter it (Method 2).
Any aspect of a transaction can be changed by clicking on it in an account or any other report window (including an unsaved bank reconciliation or VAT return) with the right mouse button and choosing Edit Transaction from the pop-up menu. In the account window you can also click on the three dots at the right-hand end of an entry.
You can use the Edit Transaction dialog just to see all the details of a transaction. You can then change any aspect immediately if it is incorrect.
A transaction can be deleted by clicking on it in with the right mouse button and choosing Delete from the pop-up menu.
You can correct a transaction that has been entered as the wrong type (for instance as a PAY instead of an REC) by choosing the Change Type command from the pop-up menu.
You cannot make a change to a transaction if that change would affect the total on a saved bank reconciliation or VAT return. If you need to edit a transaction on a saved bank reconciliation, you can de-reconcile it. Mistakes on VAT returns should be corrected as shown in Correcting mistakes on VAT returns.
|
1.In any report that contains the original transaction, right-click on the transaction and select Make Reversal Copy. This creates a transaction that is the reverse of the original. A reversal of an REC or PAY transaction creates the same transaction type for the reverse amount. 2.Re-enter the original transaction with the correct details. |
Locking previous periods
You can prevent transactions and entries from being changed or deleted by choosing the Lock Previous Periods command from the File menu. The periods can be unlocked at any time. You can also apply a password if you want to stop other users unlocking a period.
Furthermore, you can prevent unauthorised users editing and deleting transactions by choosing the Set Up > Passwords command.

Section of an account window showing the Move Entries button that appears when you select one or more entries
See also
Pre-VAT registration purchases
Correcting mistakes on VAT returns