Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

VT Transaction+

Navigation: Reports, correcting mistakes, bank reconciliation

Correcting mistakes

Scroll Prev Top Next More

Any aspect of a transaction can be changed by clicking on it in an account or any other report window (including an unsaved bank reconciliation or VAT return) with the right mouse button and choosing Edit Transaction from the pop-up menu. In the account window you can also click on the three dots at the right-hand end of an entry.

You can use the Edit Transaction dialog just to see all the details of a transaction. You can then change any aspect immediately if it is incorrect.

A transaction can be deleted by clicking on it in with the right mouse button and choosing Delete from the pop-up menu.

You can correct a transaction that has been entered as the wrong type (for instance as a PAY instead of an REC) by choosing the Change Type command from the pop-up menu.

Several entries in the wrong account can be corrected by displaying the account, selecting the entries and then by clicking on the Move Entries button near the top of the account window.

You cannot make a change to a transaction if that change would affect the total on a saved bank reconciliation or VAT return. As an alternative, you can choose the Make Reversal Copy command (or Raise Credit Note command for an invoice) from the pop-up menu, and then re-enter it correctly.

You can prevent transactions and entries from being changed or deleted by choosing the Lock Previous Periods command from the File menu. You can also apply a password if you want to stop other users unlocking a period.

You can prevent unauthorised users editing and deleting transactions by choosing the Set Up>Passwords command.

2_moveentries2

Section of an account window showing the Move Entries button that appears when you select one or more entries